Who We Are
White Memorial Presbyterian Church is a congregation of the Presbyterian Church (USA) and affirms that it is a part of the universal fellowship of Christian churches, which includes all those who acknowledge the one God, profess faith in Jesus Christ as Lord and Savior, and trust the redeeming power of the Holy Spirit.
The corporate name of the church is "White Memorial Presbyterian Church of Raleigh, Inc." This name should be used in any deed, will, trust or other legal document to refer to the church. It was incorporated under the laws of the state of North Carolina on February 25, 1988.
White Memorial was founded in 1946 by a group of members from First Presbyterian Church in Raleigh. It is named for Dr. William McClanahan White who served as minister of First Presbyterian from 1908 to 1934.
From 1946 until 1952 church services were held in the Colony (now Rialto) Theatre. Sunday School classes met at the Hayes Barton (now Underwood) School from 1946 until 1949. The first building constructed on the present site was the Luther Building, completed in 1949. It was used for Sunday School classes and the Weekday School and is still operating in that capacity today.
The first pastor, Dr. Charles Lynnwood Brown, served from 1946 until 1966. He was succeeded in 1966 by Dr. H. Edwin Pickard, who served until his retirement in 1993. In June 1994, the congregation called Dr. Arthur Ross III as pastor. Art served until his retirement on August 31, 2009. Christopher Edmonston was called as the newest pastor of White Memorial and began serving the church in September 2011.
The Archives Committee collects, organizes, preserves, maintains, and makes available the church's records of enduring value. We welcome all who want to help preserve WMPC's present and past.
Contact: Kathy Rankin